Changing Colors + Math Solver

I’m creating a mini game that requires students to solve a basic math problem.

Each math problem is linked to a square that changes colors based on their answer. For example the colors are red = 20, blue = 10, and green = 15. The problem they have to solve is 5+5. So, once they answer it, the square turns blue.

I’m not very good at figuring out the code blocks on my own, but I can figure it out with assistance. I need a way to…

1. Input a number to answer each question (there’s a lot, so using a counter with a button might not work for memory or space).
  2. Link that answer to the square so it changes to the correct color when answered.

(The colors would be layered on top of each other, I just need a way to activate the change based on the answer the player has)!

I’m fine if they can’t input a number. Each color is linked to a specific number, so all I need to do is find a way for the colors to change.

I wish I could explain in more detail, but I don’t want to give away my idea just yet, because I’m trying to make a guide on the game and don’t want the idea stolen.

Use a player-scoped counter and two buttons, the buttons increment and decrement the counter and have the counter value attach to a player-scoped property, you can use checkers to output signals in which turns the answers to the respective color.

OR

You can have them step on the answers using triggers and wires.

1 Like

Is there a simpler way using blocks? If I did the counter with buttons it would take up a TON of memory.

I guess you could use pop-ups with different numbers that the player can cycle through to find the right answer and when they click it it activates different triggers depending on the number they chose, the triggers then updates a property and a checker checks. I don’t know if it uses less energy, but I think it should. Depending on the amount of pop-ups and answers you have.

1 Like

Thank you.